In California, ( under the stop and snatch laws ) if you are stopped for a DUI you will have your license revoked for four months if your blood alcohol level is .08% or higher, or up to a year if you refuse a BAC or drug test when stopped by an officer. After formally being charged with a DUI, then you will be given a pink slip of paper that notifies you if your driver’s license has been suspended. You may then be given a 30 day temporary driving permit. If you have an out of state license, then you will simply be restricted from driving in California.
There are circumstances which increase the penalties and fines of driving under the influence. Namely an accident, a refusal to take a breathalyzer test, a BAC of 1.5% or higher, or prior convictions related to a DUI or reckless driving. And DMV keeps a record of your driving for the last 10 years.
If you are under 21, the zero tolerance law will result in your license being revoked for one year for an alcohol level of .01% or higher.
Santa Barbara DUI Lawyer Discusses Obtaining a Temporary Driving Permit
In Santa Barbara, you have 10 days from the day of your arrest to call DMV to request a hearing to contest the license suspension.If you do not request a hearing within 10 days, the suspension will become permanent. If this happens, you will not be able to obtain a temporary permit.
If you do, your 30-day temporary permit will extended for another 30 days. It is imperative that you request a hearing from the DMV in the 10-day time frame. Nothing is lost if you do and your DUI lawyer has a better chance of getting your suspension thrown out.
Driver’s License Consequences and California Law
There are am minimum of four consequences for a first time offense in Santa Barbara and these are all influenced by the facts of your case and the skills of your Santa Barbara DUI Lawyer. For the general cases, these four are mandatory:
- Three years of informal summary probation. You do not have to report to a probation officer and you agree to not get arrested again for three years.
- A fine of about $1,200 or more and you will be given a fair amount of time to pay it.
- A first level drinking and driving program, which is 10 weekly sessions at about three hours each.
- A temporary driving permit will allow you to drive to and from work and to your drinking and driving program.
Timing is everything. Failure to meet the required deadlines, make any appointment or court date will result in a full suspension of your driver’s license, higher fines, tougher probation, and even jail time. It is essential to find the best Santa Barbara DUI Lawyer as your advocate, because a good DUI Lawyer can get your case thrown out or your penalties lessened.
About the Author: Kenneth M. Hallum is a Santa Barbara DUI Attorney. Hallumlaw.com is a web site where you’ll find more helpful resources about Santa Barbara DUI Statistics, DUI Santa Barbara and penalties for DUI. For more information about underage DUI penalties, Santa Barbara drunk driver cases, plea bargain and penalties for a DUI, bookmark http://www.hallumlaw.com
About Santa Barbara DUI Attorney Kenneth M. Hallum:
As a DUI defense attorney, Kennnth Hallum is dedicated to an understanding of the art and science of California DUI defense with memberships in the California DUI Lawyers Association, the National College of DUI Defense, the National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, the California Public Defenders Association, and the State Bar of California.